2023 - 2024 Section Council

Governing Council

Colin Hargreaves | Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart PC

Michelle Gibbons | Minnesota Court of Appeals

Brooke Hein | Larkin Hoffman

Madeline Gustafson | Bassford Remele

Cassandra Kuebler | Hellmuth & Johnson PLLC | Networking and Engagement Committee
Alexandra Anderson | Community and Public Service Committee
Angelica Guarneros | Law School Engagement Committee
Samuel Kavalier | Ogden Glazer & Schaefer | CLE Committee
Alissa Mumy | Polaris Industries Inc | CLE Committee
Humberto Ochoa | Flaherty & Hood PA | Law School Engagement Committee, Publications Committee
Esther Raty | US Bank (Mpls) | Law School Engagement Committee
Jill Strodthoff | Moss & Barnett PA | Networking and Engagement Committee
Anna Street | Tuft Lach Jerabek & O'Connell PLLC | Community and Public Service Committee
Kala Swenson | Fourth Judicial District (Hennepin County) Family Court | Networking and Engagement Committee
Dea Cortney | Publications Committee, ABA YLD District 17 Rep
Harpreet Mahal | CLE Committee, ABA HOD Section Rep
Nicholas Garcia Lisle | Flaherty & Hood PA | DEI Committee
Navin Ramalingam | Robins Kaplan LLP (Minneapolis) | DEI Committee
Caralyn Brown | Flaherty & Hood PA | Community and Public Service Committee
Aisha Servaty | Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid (Minneapolis) | Outreach Committee

Committee Descriptions

CLE Committee
The CLE Committee organizes several CLE programs throughout the year, choosing topics and securing presenters. The CLE Committee is also part of the New Lawyers Leadership Conference Committee (see committee description below).

Community & Public Service Committee
The Community & Public Service Committee organizes various volunteer activities throughout the year as an opportunity for the NLS to give back to the community. The committee plans and organizes pro bono, service, or donation drive opportunities.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee
The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee works to promote diversity within the NLS and the legal profession. The committee determines what avenues are appropriate to take each year to accomplish this mission.

Law School Engagement Committee
The Law School Engagement Committee works to increase law student participation in the MSBA and provide a bridge to law students from school to the professional setting. This committee coordinates law school, CLE, and networking events that engage and support law students in the NLS.

Networking & Engagement Committee
The Networking & Engagement Committee organizes social events for NLS members throughout the year. The committee plans engagement opportunities in order to recruit new members and engage current members, coordinating dates, activities, and venues for events. 

New Lawyers Leadership Conference Committee
The New Lawyers Leadership Conference Committee is made up of the NLS Treasurer and Secretary and the CLE Committee. This group oversees the organization and execution of the New Lawyers Leadership Conference. The committee works to secure a venue, plan the content, organize the logistics, and secure sponsorships to host the event.

Outreach Committee
The Outreach Committee is focused on serving new lawyers practicing in Greater Minnesota. This committee’s work centers on how the NLS can support and connect new attorneys outside the Twin Cities metro area.

Publications Committee
The Publications Committee cultivates interest from NLS members to write articles from the perspective of and relevant to new lawyers for MSBA Bench & Bar of Minnesota Publication. This is a great opportunity for committee members and its featured writers to gain more exposure to the broader MSBA community.

Section Manager
Sarah Grundhoefer
(612) 278-6307