Current Openings

At its April 17, 2020 meeting, the Assembly will conduct elections for the following positions:

  • Client Security Board – 1 open position
    Stuart Williams has a term ending June 30, 2020 and is not eligible to serve an additional 3-year term. 
  • Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education – 1 open position
    Samuel Edmunds has a term ending June 30, 2020 and is not eligible to serve an additional 3-year term.
  • Legal Services Advisory Committee– 2 open positions
    Peter Knapp and Lawrence McDonough have terms ending July 1, 2020. Neither Mr. Knapp nor Mr. McDonough are eligible to serve additional 3- year terms.
  • Central MN Legal Services Board – 2 open positions
    Meredith Boudrie and Patrick O'Donnell have terms ending April 30, 2020. Both are eligible to serve an additional 2-year term.

Interested, qualified members are encouraged to apply or to encourage any eligible Association member who is interested to apply.  Please submit a Qualifications and Interest Statement to Ariana Guerra by Friday, March 27, 2020.

Elections/Appointments Committee

The Elections/Appointments Committee reviews Qualifications and Interest Statements submitted by members interested in serving on outside boards and related positions.  Through that review and short interviews, the Committee develops recommendations for the Assembly to fill positions on a variety of boards.

Positions filled through this process include:

  • MSBA Secretary (At-Large seat under Bylaw 9.2.3)
  • Three Assembly Representative on the Council (Bylaw 7.2)
  • MCLE Board
  • Minnesota State Bar Foundation Board of Directors
  • Minnesota Supreme Court Boards:
    • Bar Admissions Advisory Council (3 seats)
    • Client Security Board (3 seats)
    • Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board (6 seats)
    • Legal Services Advisory Committee (4 seats)
    • Board of Continuing Legal Education (6 seats)
    • Board of Legal Certification (3 seats)
  • Legal Services Boards:
    • Anishinabe Legal Services
    • Central Minnesota Legal Services
    • Southern Minnesota Legal Services
  • MSBA Delegates to the ABA
Chair:  Britt Ackerman
Staff Liaison:  Athena Hollins