Jennifer Thompson is the new president of the Minnesota State Bar Association for 2021-22

Contact: Joseph Satter, Senior Director of Communications
(612) 752-6621
Photo available on request
Minneapolis, MN (July 1, 2021)—Following its annual convention, conducted virtually on June 24-25, the Minnesota State Bar Association announced its 2021-22 association officers.
Today Jennifer Thompson begins her term as president of the MSBA for the new bar year (July 1, 2021-June 30, 2022). Thompson, a founding partner of Thompson Tarasek Lee-O’Halloran PLLC in Edina, has spent her career practicing construction and real estate law. She has also served as an attorney commissioner on the Minneapolis Civil Rights Commission and as a volunteer attorney for the Children’s Law Center.
Thompson says her plans for the year ahead will involve building from the strategic planning cycle the MSBA is currently in, with an eye toward membership, the leadership pipeline, and equity as key issues. “We have to think about what our members really want and how we’re providing that to them,” she said.
In addition to Thompson, the 2021-22 MSBA officers are:
  • President-Elect: Paul D. Peterson. Peterson, a founding partner of Harper & Peterson, PLLC in Woodbury, is a board-certified Civil Trial Specialist whose practice is focused on representing individuals and families who have been injured by the wrongful acts of others. Peterson also does pro bono work for Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services (SMRLS).
  • Treasurer: Paul Floyd. Floyd, a partner at Wallen-Friedman & Floyd, P.A. in Minneapolis, is a “lawyer’s lawyer,” focusing his practice on counseling attorney clients about the business issues their firms face. He is a past president of the Hennepin County Bar Association (2016-17) and of the Minnesota chapter of the Federal Bar Association.
  • Secretary: Samuel Edmunds. Edmunds, a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist and founding partner of Sieben Edmunds Miller PLLC, represents clients in criminal cases ranging from misdemeanors to homicides. He is a former chair of the MSBA New Lawyers Section and of the Elections and Appointments Committee as well as a delegate to the American Bar Association House of Delegates.